Posted in Reflections

My mom

After all these posts, I was thinking why not write one about my mom itself..so here it is…

Mom has gone through lot of hardships in her childhood..having lost her parents at a very young age, life was not a bed of roses for her. But she never lost heart…always believed in God, that all would be well. She is my inspiration… everytime i hear about her past, I cant help but hold back my tears and feel proud of her at the same time. the way she has cheerfully faced the hardships and stayed beside her elder brother who supported the family – is a true inspiration to me..

All the credit for what me and my sisters are now, goes to her…she was our first teacher..I am always told by my relatives tht I used to create quite a ruckus to avoid school…It was my mom who patiently taught me at home and slowly convinced me to go to school. She stayed near my class-room through out the school for quite some days, so that I would not cry and I could get used to the environment.

She always has been a friend, philosopher, guide to us…she was the one who encouraged us to be confident and participate in the competetions at school. when there was a dance or fancy dress competetion, she would gleefully run around the shops to get the costume and make-up. She would be there at the school, dressing us up and cheering us.

she encouraged  our little hobbies be it painting, sketching, story writing…her little words of appreciation worked wonders for me and my sisters..all our friends always appreciate me and my sisters for being multi-talented…Well!!all the credit goes to mom…

How can I forget the stories she used to tell us when we were kids. She is the best story teller I have seen till date – be it mythological stories or the stories from chandamama, balamitra. She was this comforting shoulder we always had when we had a bad day at school(our biggest worries at that time)..I missed her the most when I went to stay at hostel during my engineering. She used to call me up everyday and make sure I dont miss home.

Since then, I have been living on my own (taking up job after college) and I miss those good old days spending time at home.she was the one to wake us up ealry in the monring during exams..to walk miles and bring lunch for us to school…to sing and play along with us in the evenings…and make delicious supper in the nights.. Even now, she makes it a point to call all of us everyday…Me and my sister always admire her energy…she does all the house work by herself and still is so energetic and cheerful. we have half the patience even to listen to her.

She goes crazy about green, she likes shopping a looootttt (but she wants the stuff to cost cheap)..she absolutely loves icecream (with fruits and nuts – her favourite)…she likes watching TV9 and other news channels and staying up-to-date with the happening around the world. Most of the times, we get to know all the important news from her…she is an ardent fan of Bhakti (devotional) channel and would be glued to it, or may be I should say immersed in it most of the time. she is higly sensitive and extremely emotional (Handle with care at times!!!)..

She loooveessss talking and talking for hours and hours…with anyone and anytime…anywhere she goes, she makes friends..be it during a train journey, in a shop or even in a temple… Amazing thing is when we were in chennai, she used to spend hours and hours chatting with the other women at temple, when she hardly knew Tamil. My dad and us always wonder how do the women there understand her… She is an amazing woman..she was able to learn hindi within a week’s time when we were in Mumbai and learn tamil as quickly  when we were in chennai…. Dad being in Bank, we moves from place to place and she has always been with my dad, managing the family and taking care of us no matter what..

all of us love her a lott.. we wish that we can keep her happy through out her life……

Love you Mom!!!

6 thoughts on “My mom

Leave a Reply

